Skip Navigation
We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, provide ads, analyze site traffic, and personalize content. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.

OEA-RA Awards

Honor the exemplary work of our colleagues and fellow members from around the state with an OEA-RA Award.
OEA-RA Awards
Laura Warren, a recipient of a 2022 OEA-RA Award, with her granddaughter at the annual awards banquet.

Nominations are now open for the 2024 OEA Representative Assembly awards. This is our opportunity to honor our amazing education colleagues and union leaders from around the state.
There are fourteen major award categories available to members and supportive community members. Awardees are recognized at the annual OEA Representative Assembly, currently planned as an in-person event April 19-20, 2024. 

Below the nomination form, you'll find a complete list of awards categories.

Nominations must be received by no later than midnight on March 3, 2024.

Award FAQs

Who may submit nominations? OEA members, OEA committees, local Associations, UniServ councils, or OEA staff.
How are OEA award winner's selected? The OEA Executive Committee selects nominees based on the award's criteria.
How do I prepare a nomination form? Choose the appropriate category for each entry. A separate form should be used for each nominee, even if you are nominating the same person for multiple categories. Your rationale in the nomination must include background, achievements, project descriptions, and other relevant information.
What is the deadline to submit a nomination? The deadline for nominations is March 3, 2024.

Section with embed

Award Categories: Members

Dick Barss/Pat Wohlers Member Rights Award The Dick Barss/Pat Wohlers Member Rights award honors an OEA member who has made a significant contribution toward protecting or furthering the rights of our members.
Noel Connall IPD Award The Noel Connall IPD Award honors an OEA member who has been instrumental in developing or implementing instruction and professional development through programs or contract language
Robert G. Crumpton Organizational Excellence Award The Robert G. Crumpton Organizational Excellence Award honors an OEA member who has promoted organizational excellence through long-time service to OEA. Criteria includes: 1) at least 10 years of service to the Association, 2) service at more than one level of the Association (local/ UniServ/state/ national) and, 3) demonstration of consistent support and involvement within the Association. This award is not intended to recognize single achievement, but rather to recognize ongoing and outstanding voluntary activities which are the foundation of OEA.
Excellence in Education Award The Excellence in education award honors an OEA member for outstanding accomplishments toward educational excellence for all students. Likely honorees have spearheaded a model program that could impact students statewide or have had a significant influence on educational policy for the improvement of education for all students.
Political Action Award The Political Action Award honors an OEA member, local Association, or UniServ that has gone the extra-mile to provide political leadership on behalf of OEA’s political agenda. and to achieve the Association’s political action goals.
Kevin Forney Education Support Professional Award The Kevin Forney Education Support Professional award honors an ESP member whose individual activities reflect the contribution of ESP members to public education in Oregon. The award winner is submitted to NEA for NEA’s ESP of the Year award.
Ruth E. Greiner Membership Award The Ruth Greiner Membership Award honors the contributions of a newer member or an experienced member who has worked hard to include early career educators at the local or state level.
Deanna Conner Community College Award The Deanna Conner Community College Award honors the contributions of an OEA community college member who has had a positive impact on the advocacy of Oregon community colleges. Nominees will be reviewed by the Community College UniServ Council Award Committee and the recipient will be reported to the OEA President.
OEA-Retired Lifetime Service Award The OEA-Retired Lifetime Service Award honors an individual whose long-term advocacy, commitment, and service to the Oregon Education Association and OEA-Retired have grown our union. Active advocacy, commitment, and service over a lifetime will be the highest criteria to be considered. The individual’s elected service, although considered, will not be the prime factor in awarding this recognition.
Early Career Educator Award The Early Career Educator Award honors the contribution of an OEA member in their first five (5) years in the field of education professions who has taken an active role at the local or state level to advocate and/or engage educators in union work.
Aspiring Educator Award The Aspiring Educator Award honors an aspiring educator who has taken an active role at the chapter or state level to advocate and/or engage educators in union work.
Presidential Citations Presidential Citations are occasionally given by the OEA President to members for special recognition.

Award Categories: Members & Non-Members

Ed Elliott Human Rights Award The Ed Elliott Human Rights Award honors an individual who has made a sustained contribution to human and civil rights in Oregon. The award recognizes contributions and leadership that advocated for social justice to promote quality of access, representation, and opportunity for all.

Award Categories: Non-Members

Education Citizen of the Year The OEA’s highest award to a non-member, the Education Citizen of the Year award honors an individual outside the field of education who has made a sustained contribution to or has had a recognized impact on education in Oregon. Criteria for selection includes: 1) currently active in support of public education in Oregon, 2) service to education over a period of time, 3) someone NOT professionally active in education, and 4) a forward-looking philosophy of education in line with OEA’s objectives for the profession.
News Media Award(s) The News Media Award honors a non-member of the media. This award is intended for members of the media who have increased public understanding of education achievements, problems or programs. This category includes: 1) continuous coverage of education, 2) special news or feature stories/ programs on education, 3) editorials, 4) photography/graphic depictions of education.

Keeping the Promise of Quality Public Education

The Oregon Education Association (OEA) is a union committed to the cause of providing the basic right of great public education to every student. OEA represents about 41,000 educators working in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 public schools and community colleges. OEA’s membership includes licensed teachers and specialists, classified/education support professionals (ESPs), community college faculty, retired educators, and student members. OEA members also belong to the 3.2 million members of the National Education Association (NEA).